The Bible In 90 Days - Day 18

04/29/2011 10:08

Day 18 - Honor Not Yours (Jdg. 3:28 – Jdg. 15:12)  

Judges 4:9 (NKJV)

9 So she said, “I will surely go with you; nevertheless there will be no glory for you in the journey you are taking, for the LORD will sell Sisera into the hand of a woman.” Then Deborah arose and went with Barak to Kedesh.

Judges 4:21-22 (NKJV)

21 Then Jael, Heber’s wife, took a tent peg and took a hammer in her hand, and went softly to him and drove the peg into his temple, and it went down into the ground; for he was fast asleep and weary. So he died. 22 And then, as Barak pursued Sisera, Jael came out to meet him, and said to him, “Come, I will show you the man whom you seek.” And when he went into her tent, there lay Sisera, dead with the peg in his temple.

 

How many times have you heard the voice of the Lord telling you to do a certain thing? Have you read a scripture, heard a sermon, spoke to another person and that still small voice calls your name. What do you do when that voice is speaking to you?

When the Lord speaks to you he is testing you to see if you believe and trust in him. We should do as the Lord tells us immediately, without hesitation or fear. We should stop telling ourselves that is too hard; I don’t believe the Lord really wants me to do this. How could he ask that of me, that’s not what I want to do? Or maybe you say well I can’t do this by myself so I will take someone with me. 

Do you not know that when the Lord takes you to something, he will be right there to take you through it? Has not the Lord gone before you? Why do we ask the Lord for grace and mercy and then deny the same favor that he is trying to bestow upon us? Why let someone steal the glory that the Lord has intended for you? 

If you just do as the Lord commands when he commands, the honor will be yours through Jesus Christ your Saviour. 

 

Follow the Journey.

Topic: The Bible In 90 Days - Day 18

No comments found.

New comment